Do You Need a Blood Test to Get a Marriage License?

blood-test-marriage-license

Back in the old days, getting a marriage license always involved getting a blood test in every state in America. It was an assurance by the government that you weren’t marrying someone who had either some sort of unknown venereal disease which could cause issues with potential unborn children. But times have changed. Over the last 70 years, one by one, states have decided to do away with the blood test requirement as the medical industry has improved treatment techniques and legal decisions have passed judgments on the privacy rights of those who are dealing with the government.

Below is the only state that currently requires a blood test or a waiver:
  • Montana

As of 2017, to obtain a marriage license in Montana you need to bring the following with you:

  • $53.00 – payable by cash, money order, cashier’s check, Visa, MasterCard or Discover.  
  • ID – Driver’s License, State ID or Passport
  • Proof of rubella blood test or waiver – The bride, if under the age of 50, must provide proof of a Rubella blood test or a doctor’s statement regarding sterilization. This information must be submitted on the State of Montana Premarital Certificate and must be signed by a physician. Or the bride and groom may choose to read and sign an Informed consent Waiver (part B of the Premarital Certificate) which waives the requirement for the medical certification of blood testing for rubella immunity. This form may be obtained from the Clerk of District Court in any county in the State of Montana.
It’s hard to tell how much longer Montana will require blood tests or a waiver for  marriage licenses. It seems like every year that another state does away with the blood test requirement. Just in 2012 Mississippi did away with the need for getting a blood test to get a marriage license. So it’s clear that more and more states are reassessing the need for the blood test.
While fewer and fewer states have the blood test requirement, it’s always god to check in with your state’s county clerk (you can find this information online if you don’t feel like calling). I checked and couldn’t find any upcoming legislature that might change the requirements in Montana. But as you probably know, things can change.

While we only link to products and services we think you will love, some of the links on our site are monetized. If you click on the link and make a purchase we may receive a commission, which helps us keep bringing great content to you! All opinions are our own.


Listen to the Woman Getting Married Podcast



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.